If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident you have first-hand experience into the devastation that an injury accident can cause. There is never a good time to get into an accident, and with it can come a number of new challenges. From doctor and/or hospital visits to finding a knowledgeable attorney, the list seems to be overwhelming at times. So much so that often times people do not want to deal with the hassle of going through the legal process until it is too late and their claim is no longer eligible in the eyes of Nevada state law. That is why it is important to know the Nevada Statute of Limitations.
What Are Nevada Statute of Limitations?
Although your medical attention should be your first priority, as an injured accident victim you will also need to pay close attention to something called the “Statute of Limitations.” These limitations dictate how long you have to file a claim. When asking your attorney or paralegal (who should refer legal advice to a lawyer), you will likely be advised to file your claim as soon as possible. And there is good reason for this. If you take too long to file your claim your statute of limitations may expire so to speak. If this happens you might not be able to make a recovery for the damages, loss of income, pain and suffering, medical bills, and other costs associated with your accident.
How Long Do You Have To File?
In some instances, such as when you scrape your car door against a steel beam, you might not want to report the accident. And even in this case it might be advisable to report your car collision to your insurance agency. But for a number of accident cases, especially ones where you or a loved one has incurred serious injury, you will want to file your case as quickly as possible. In Nevada, you have up to 2 years to file your car accident claim. You don’t want to miss this opportunity. Once it has passed, your right to receive a fair settlement for your injuries will not be available.
You can think of the civil statute of limitations as an hour glass where time begins the day of the incident and ends two years from that date. Nevada has different time limits for different types of claims. For example, a personal injury accident will allow for 2 years to file your claim whereas a product liability claim will allow 4 years to file.
Below are some of the many Statute of Limitations based on the following cause of action. This is not by any means a complete or exhaustive list but it can be used as a general overview to help demonstrate how different causes of action can allow different limitations as to how long you have to file your case.
|Cause of Action||Statute|
|Personal injury: 2 years||Nev. Rev. Stat. § 11.190(4)(e) (2016)|
|Product liability: 4 years||Nev. Rev. Stat. § 11.220 (2016)|
|Property damage: 3 years||Nev. Rev. Stat. § 11.190(3)(c) (2016)|
|Slander: 2 years||Nev. Rev. Stat. § 11.190(4)(c) (2016)|
Filing Your Case with an Expert Personal Injury Lawyer
If you or someone you know has been injured in a car collision, your time to file may have already started. It is recommended that accident victims contact the best personal injury accident attorney in Nevada to help them file their claim and receive a maximum recovery. Call Harris & Harris today on (702) 384-1414 or you can submit our online contact form here.