Automobile Accident Attorney in Las Vegas Discusses Hit & Run Car Accidents
The state of Nevada considers it a criminal offense to leave the scene of an accident, even if it’s just a hit and run. The law requires all parties to stay at the scene, exchange information, and help any injured parties, even if the accident is not the fault of one of the drivers involved. If any driver intentionally leaves the scene of a collision prematurely, they may be charged with a crime. Speak to an automobile accident attorney in Las Vegas if you have been in a hit and run car accident.
Relevant Auto Accident Laws
There are several Nevada Revised Statutes that outline the obligations of individuals involved in car collisions:
NRS 484.010 – This law requires any individual involved in a deadly or injurious car collision on a public highway or road to immediately stop as close to the scene as possible and to remain at the scene until all legal duties have been fulfilled (see NRS484E.030).
- The driver must not obstruct traffic.
- Failure to stop constitutes a category B felony, punishable by two to 20 years imprisonment and a fine of $2,000 to $5,000
- Failure to stop also constitutes an offense for each injured or deceased person from the collision.
NRS 484E.020 – Any driver involved in a collision resulting only in physical damage to another vehicle or other property in which an individual is present must stop at the scene.
- The driver must also move his or her car from obstructing traffic as soon as is safe and feasible.
- The driver must move the car to as near a location as possible that is not obstructing traffic and must stay at the scene until all legal responsibilities are fulfilled (se NRS484E.030).
NRS 484E.030 – This law describes the duties of any driver involved in a collision resulting in death or injury to any individual or damage to a vehicle or other property attended by another person.Specific information must be provided to the other driver(s) or individuals involved and any police officers who arrive at the scene. Law officers may issue traffic citations if this information is not present at the scene. The information that must be provided includes:
- Full name
- Vehicle registration number
- Driver’s license (upon request)
Reasonable care of any injured party must be provided, such as transporting or arranging the transport of that party to a medical professional when it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary. If a police officer is not present at the scene, it is the legal obligation of all drivers involved to report the incident to the nearest police office or highway patrol after fulfilling sections i and ii. Then, it’s best to consult an automobile accident attorney in Las Vegas.
Parked Car Hit and Run
So the above laws regard collisions when another driver or individual is present. What about when you collide with a parked car? The same laws apply and the same obligations must be fulfilled to the best of the ability of the driver:
- The driver must attempt to find the owner of the vehicle or to leave the required information with contact information on the damaged vehicle.
- The driver must tell a police officer about the incident, if you are able. If you are incapacitated, the obligation to inform a police officer is transferred to any other able-bodied occupant in the car.
Felony vs Misdemeanor for Hit & Run
Hit and run accidents in Nevada may be charged as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the severity of the damage.
- Misdemeanor – Fleeing the scene when property damage is inflicted, whether a driver or other individual is present or not, is considered a misdemeanor hit and run offense. Penalties include up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 and six points against the driver’s license.
- Felony – Fleeing the scene of a vehicle collision that results in bodily injury or death is a category B felony. Before leaving, each driver involved must exchange information, render any necessary aid to any injured individuals, and be sure the police are aware of the incident. Penalties include two to 15 years in prison, a fine between $2,000 and $5,000 and possibility of license suspension or revocation. The exact penalties vary based on the specific circumstances of the incident. Previous convictions for driving violations such as previous hit and runs or DUIs, the severity of the incident, the injuries incurred by other individuals involved, etc. all impacts the severity of punishment.
Hit and run cases can become very complicated when there are several injured parties, and vehicles involved. It can become more complex when other laws come into play regarding who was at fault and the specific obligations of independent drivers. A single driver may be charged with reckless driving, bodily injury, vehicular homicide, and a variety of other charges. It is extremely important to seek legal representation from an automobile accident attorney in Las Vegas that has experience and knowledge about hit and run collisions. They will work hard on your behalf to defend you from unjust consequences.
Hire an Automobile Accident Attorney in Las Vegas
Harris & Harris injury lawyers have been serving Las Vegas for over 15 years. We have the skills, dedication and resources to ensure your case is settled in a just way. If you’ve been involved in a hit and run accident give us a call at (702) 384-1414 to speak to an automobile accident attorney in Las Vegas. You can also fill out our online contact form here.